About the Program

The Reading the West Book Awards honor the best fiction, non-fiction, and illustrated books for adults and children set in one of the twelve MPIBA member states, or created by an author or artist living or working in the region. The awards celebrate the spirit of the west and the rich variety of writing in and about our region and reflect the extraordinary diversity of our reading public.


Consumers engage with the book awards through readingthewest.com. That website features the book awards, the Summer Of promotion, and support for the Holiday Marketing Program.

Volunteer for a Reading the West Judging Committee


Add your name to our roster of potential readers for next year’s reading committees and help us choose the Reading the West shortlists. Let us know that you’re interested and we’ll be in touch in the fall with more details. 

Suggest a title to be nominated


You are invited to add books to this list at any time. To be considered for the 31st Annual Award, the book must be originally published in 2020 by an author living or working in the region – OR – the subject matter must be specifically regional to one of the twelve Association states. 

This Year’s Awards

  • Nomination Period: October 1, 2019 – January 15, 2020
  • Long-list Announced: February 5, 2020
  • Short-list Announced: April 15, 2020
  • Public Voting: April 20 – May 17, 2020
  • Winners Announced: May 20, 2020
  • Regional Bookstore Display Contest: April 15 – June 30, 2020
2019 Reading the West Nominees on readingthewest.com
2019 Reading the West Nominees on Edelweiss
2019 Reading the West Nominees (Excel Sheet)

Make Your Plans

Here’s a checklist of things you can do to spread the word about the award and encourage sales of the nominated titles.

  • Email announcements
    • Public voting opens on April 20. 
    • Winners will be announced on May 20.
  • Social media announcements
  • Displays
    • Display contest starts on April 15 and runs through June 30. Take a picture of your display for social media and tag @readingthewest to enter to win.
  • Promotion ideas
    • Events
    • Announcements
    • Discounts

Make Your Materials

Member stores will receive Reading the West Book Awards stickers for the shortlist title and winners by mail in April, 2020.

Reading the West Display & Digital Assets