31st Annual Awards

(books published in 2020)

  • Nomination Period: October 1, 2020 – January 15, 2021
  • Long-list Announced: February, 2021
  • Short-list Announced: April 2021
  • Public Voting: April – May, 2021
  • Winners Announced: May, 2021
  • Regional Bookstore Display Contest: April – June, 2021

Volunteer for a Reading Committee

Add your name to our roster of potential readers for next year’s reading committees and help us choose the Reading the West shortlists. Let us know that you’re interested and we’ll be in touch in the fall with more details. 



Suggest a Title to Be Nominated

You are invited to add books to this list at any time. To be considered for the 31st Annual Award, the book must be originally published in 2020 by an author living or working in the region – OR – the subject matter must be specifically regional to one of the twelve Association states. 

Nominate a Book for the Advocacy Award

  • The Reading the West Advocacy Award will be granted to an outstanding book published in 2020 that promotes equity and inclusivity and addresses themes of social, economic and/or environmental justice. Submissions from all genres of fiction and non-fiction including kids and teen books are encouraged to apply. We will not consider reissues or anniversary editions.

    The Advocacy Award will be given to the book with the most bookseller nominations. In the event of a tie, the board of directors will choose the honoree.

    Please submit your nomination below.
  • Bookstores must be members of MPIBA in order to be eligible to nominate a title.

Promote the Awards and Sell More Books

Here’s a list of things you can do NOW, and year round, to sell more books by promoting the current and previous Reading the West Book Award winners. See the link below for a full collection of digital assets, information on author social media links, and more):

  • Build a in-store or virtual displays of the current and previous winners.
  • Promote these books to your customer email list.
  • Promote these books on social media. Follow @readingthewest to share posts, and tag #readingthewest in your own posts.
  • Host a Virtual Reading the West Event
    • Author events
    • Book clubs
    • Staff book talks
    • Announcing the winners

Download Digital Marketing Materials

  • We’ve created digital assets for your use to promote the 30th annual shortlist titles and the winners. Click the link below to access the folder.
  • Be sure to include links to your website and virtual displays in your digital promotions.
  • We will update this file with downloadable/printable graphics for use in-store once your store is back open for shopping.
  • Member stores will also receive Reading the West Book Awards stickers for the shortlist titles and winners in May, for your eventual in-store displays and stock.
Reading the West Display & Digital Assets

Order Printed Marketing Materials

  • Use this form to order your marketing materials for the 31st Annual Reading the West Awards. Click here to learn more about the awards.

    All marketing materials are completely free for MPIBA member bookstores.
  • Contact Information

  • Where should we send the marketing materials?
  • Order Your Materials

  • Select quantity.
  • Select quantity.
  • Select quantity.
  • Select quantity.
  • Select quantity.
  • Click "submit" to place your order. A confirmation email will be sent to you automatically. Please email info@mountainsplains.org if it does not arrive.

    Marketing materials ordered by the end of February will be shipped to the address provided in March. Orders placed in March or later will be mailed within two weeks.
2×8 inch
18pt matte card stock
1.5×2 inch
low tack sticker
safe for book jackets
1.5×2 inch
low tack sticker
safe for book jackets